Skip to content

Half-Homemade Chicken Pot Pie

June 2, 2010

I’m a sucker for a good pot pie. I had this unhealthy obsession with oven-baked frozen turkey pot pies when I was younger (seriously, it was unhealthy. The suckers were loaded with sodium and trans fats) and I believe this has translated into my semi-adult life.

My mother has always made chicken pot pie, and until I was close to graduating high school, I thought it was ultra complex and from scratch. However, when I asked her for the recipe, adapted from a Campbell’s Soup recipe, I realized it was barely homemade, yet still fairly health and delicious.

Now, I’m going to be honest. The first time I made this I forgot to cook the chicken. Seriously, kids. Just because you’re putting chicken in the oven, it doesn’t mean it’s going to be cooked through between layers of vegetables and pie crust. You have to grill it first. Don’t look stupid when you bring the pie you were so excited for into work to share with others, only to find out that the chicken is uncooked. You’ll probably infect everyone with salmonella.

Half Homemade Chicken Pot Pie

Image by Katie Currid

You’ll Need:

2 pie crusts (you can make this homemade, but buying Pillsbury is just easier)*

1 bag frozen vegetables (I use Bird’s Eye with corn, peas, carrots and green beans, but you can adapt it to your liking)

½ cup milk

1 can cream of chicken soup (this comes in a fat-free variety as well)

3 chicken breasts, thawed

½ cup mozzarella cheese (optional)

1 pie tin if you do not own a ceramic pie dish

Dashes of spices including pepper, Italian seasoning and cumin

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cut out chicken into bite-size pieces. Place into medium-sized skillet that has been sprayed with cooking spray. Cook at medium-high heat until cooked thoroughly. Thoroughly means white – check this by cutting a piece of chicken in half and inspecting the color of the inside.

2. Mix soup, milk, spices, cheese and vegetables in a medium size bowl. Add chicken.

3. Line pie tin or casserole dish with one piecrust. Pour chicken vegetable mix into the lined tin. Cover the top of the tin with other piecrust and pinch the two pie crusts together to close up the pie. Cut four small holes or slits into the top of the piecrust.

4. Place pie in the middle rack of the oven and bake for 30-35 minutes until top is golden brown.

Sidenote: If you are a vegetarian, there are substitutions for this recipe. For example, instead of cream of chicken soup, you can use Campbell’s cream of mushroom or cream of broccoli soup. Also, any thick vegetable, such as eggplant or squash, can replace chicken.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2010 10:16 am

    I have a good/super easy chicken pot pie recipe. There’s no measuring, but it’s super good.

    http://www.rachaelraymag.com/recipes/rachael-ray-magazine-recipes/no-recipe-zone-recipes/Chicken-Potpie-Casserole

    Yums. Perfect for winter.

  2. June 3, 2010 4:51 pm

    It looks delicious! I like how you offer summer variations using eggplant and squash-can’t wait for the garden harvest! I am sure Philip’s Beer Butt grilled chicken leftovers would be great in this recipe!

    http://gmamia.wordpress.com/2010/06/01/beer-butt-chicken

    I hope we can continue to “piggy-back” ideas.

  3. Laura permalink
    June 22, 2010 1:22 pm

    Mmmmmmmmmm… I’m definitely going to try this when I get my next paycheck! Reminds me of long nights in the newsroom 🙂

  4. Samantha permalink
    August 31, 2010 11:41 am

    It’s funny, because I was just saying to JD how I was craving chicken pot pie and needed to find a good, but easy, recipe! Yay!

Leave a Reply

