Skip to content

Pita Bread and Hummus: The New PB&J

June 4, 2010

I haven’t always liked hummus. When I was in high school, I was kind of food-sheltered. However, my first roommate in college loved to eat hummus and pad thai and things like that that I had never heard of (I know, so exotic, right?). Although hummus doesn’t really look appetizing, it is so delicious and addictive – I’ll get it out to eat and have finished the entire bowl by the time I’m done. Whoops!

Whole Wheat Pita Bread by Annie's Eats. Image copyright Katie Currid

I get these hummus craves every once in a while, but my favorite hummus and pita is from a local Mediterranean restaurant called Casablanca. Because I’m trying not to eat out as much, I decided I was going to make my own pita bread and my own hummus.

Now, making hummus isn’t hard. I promise. Do you have a blender? Because that’s about all you need. However, tahini is not so easy to find. Definitely don’t go to Walmart. Also, it isn’t the cheapest thing in the world (Around $6 for a can), but will last you a good while. My roommate Brittany also chooses to opt out of using tahini when making hummus, or also suggests substituting it with peanut butter. It sure will change the flavor, but if you’re on the tight budget, hummus is super cheap and easy to make sans tahini.

Tahini is a Middle Eastern paste made of olive oil and sesame seeds. Tahini is not super hard to make either, you just need to get your hands on some sesame seeds.

Now, I have a new pet peeve. A lot of times I will go to make a recipe, get halfway through it, and then realize I need some ridiculous appliance that I do not own. Obviously, the solution to this is to read the directions in their entirety before beginning or planning to cook something, but that seems to just be asking a lot of me because I have come into this problem time and time again.

Case in point: I went to make this pita bread and realized I did not have a baking stone. OK, I decided, I will just go buy one – they shouldn’t be that expensive, and I know I’ll use it because my parents use theirs all the time. Lo and behold, untrusty Walmart did not have baking stones or pizza stones. Somehow, though, I figured that because pizza stones are made out of wood, maybe I can just buy a bamboo cutting board and use that.

Uhm, no. I’ve made some stupid cooking faux pas before, but this was my worst. The cutting board, which I put in the oven to preheat to 500 degrees  (the temperature the pita bread required), turned black. I am super lucky the thing did not catch fire, because I do not possess a fire extinguisher (although I am now looking into getting one) and I don’t think I would’ve known what to do if that had happened. Man, I am dumb sometimes. But thankful, aside from a really awful smell, some smoke and the itchy eyes that ensued from the smoke, I was fine and the pita bread turned out freakin’ delicious.

Also, I decided not to include the recipe of my pita bread here. It is super complicated and takes many hours to make. If you would like to make the recipe and have about 7 hours on your hands, I adapted my recipe from Annie’s Eats. No baking stone required.

Hummus

Hummus is a quick and easy snack for the hungry college student.

You’ll Need:

A blender

3 T lemon juice

6 T tahini

2 T olive oil

1 can garbanzo beans (also known as chick peas)

1/4 cup water (this water can come from the can of garbanzo beans, so do not add it if you do not drain the can)

1 T garlic

1 T cumin

2 tsp paprika

1/2 tsp salt

Directions:

1. Mix lemon juice, tahini and olive oil in a small bowl.

2. Process chickpeas, spices and salt in blender until fully ground. Scrape down bowl and add lemon juice mix.

3. Move to a serving bowl. Feel free to garnish with leftover chickpeas, drizzled olive oil, a dash of parsley or add any additional spices.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Katie Gibson permalink
    September 12, 2010 5:56 pm

    This…looks…amazing, Katie. I can’t believe you took on hummus. I would never think to be so adventurous. Kudos.

Leave a Reply

