Skip to content

Make-You-Fat Thin Mints

June 15, 2010

Those damn Girl Scouts. They’re too cute and have too-delicious cookies. But I have finally beaten them! I can make those delectable Thin Mint cookies at home from now on and avoid buying excessive amounts of other cookies, like Tagalongs, Lemonades and Samoas.

Homemade Thin Mints. Image copyright Katie Currid.

I’m sure you all have noticed my obsession with mint by now, especially mint when combined with chocolate. I think it’s an underrated flavor, but I’m also incredibly biased. My favorite ice cream is mint chocolate chip, my favorite candies are Andes mints and I can’t resist a good grasshopper concrete from a custard stand.

Since I have made these beauties, I have not been able to stop eating them. At first, I thought they weren’t very good, but after sitting overnight in the fridge (c’mon, you know Thin Mints are best cold), the taste “matured” or something, because they are now 10 times better.

Try them. They taste like the real deal.

When you make these babies, you can tell those Girl Scouts bye-bye.

Homemade Thin Mints

1 stick butter, softened

1 cup powdered sugar

2  tsp. vanilla

1 cup cocoa powder

1/2 tsp. salt

1 1/2 cups cake flour

1 tsp peppermint oil or mint extract

2 bags Andes chocolate mints pieces (you can find them near the chocolate chips)

Rolling pin

Small cookie cutter

Plastic bag

Oven

Stand mixer or mixing bowl

Microwave or double-boiler

Wax paper

Directions:

1. Cream butter and sugar together until fluffy. Add powdered sugar, making sure all of the sugar is mixed. Then stir in vanilla, salt, mint extract and cocoa powder. At this point, the mixture should begin to look like dark, thick frosting. Add the flour. It will not mix as well as the cocoa powder, but this is OK.

2. Sprinkle the countertop and your rolling pin with some flour and lay out the chocolate dough. Knead about a minute to improve consistency, then roll out until it is about 3/4-inch thick. Freeze the dough in a plastic bag for approx. 20 minutes to allow the dough to firm up so you can make them thinner and cut them out.

3. Preheat oven to 350. After freezing, remove dough from bag and place again on countertop. Roll out dough until it is much thinner – about 1/8-inch thick, just like the Girl Scouts do. Using a cookie cutter (the Girl Scouts do them round, but I used a small heart-shaped cutter), carefully cut out the dough and lay the shaped pieces on a cookie sheet sprayed with cooking spray. Continue balling up the dough and rolling it out thin until you get the most of your dough. Place cookie sheets in the oven and bake for 18-22 minutes. It’s hard to tell if these are done before of the color, but if you just touch the top of the cookie with your finger, it should be firm.

4. While waiting for the cookies to be cooked in the oven, melt the Andes chocolates. I’m a fan of the microwave method, but if you want to double boil, you can too. To microwave the chocolate, place the mint chocolates in a microwave-safe bowl and heat for 30-second increments, stirring the chocolate between increments, until smooth.

5. When the cookies and melted chocolate have cooled a bit, cover a cookie sheet or flat surface with wax paper. Place cookie flat on a fork and dip into chocolate, covering it entirely. Once covered, set on wax paper. Repeat until all cookies are covered. Once finished, place in refrigerator to let set (I kept mine in the fridge because I like to eat them cold).

Recipe inspired by 101 Cookbooks’ Natural Homemade Thin Mints

I'm sorry, I couldn't resist.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2010 9:37 am

    Your mint obsession is not too much, yet! Soon your garden will be overun w/mint. I like the I “heart” mint image! cool! (mint). Too much mint is like too much fun- there is no such thing.

  2. June 23, 2010 10:13 pm

    I fully intend on stealing this recipe from you as soon as I have enough money to actively buy cooking stuff 🙂

    • June 24, 2010 11:47 am

      It’s totally worth it. I just keep munching on them. I’m obsessed!

Leave a Reply

