Skip to content

Oreo Cream-cheese Brownies

June 25, 2010

Yeah. I know you guys know I love cream cheese. I can’t deny it. I love it on bagels (oh my God, I love bagels), I love it in baked goods, I love it in dips. Wow, cream cheese makes any great dish ten times greater. It’s super unhealthy, but man, is it great.

I’m a huge fan of taking the old standard dessert, brownies, and making them extravagant. For today’s brownie face lift, I added Oreos and cream cheese. Nom nom, indeed.

Oreo cream-cheese Brownies. Photo copyright Katie Currid

Ingredients:

1 box of brownies (I used Betty Crocker fudge brownies)

2 eggs

1/4 cup milk

1/3 cup vegetable oil

16 oreos

8 oz. cream cheese at room temperature

1/2 cup powdered sugar

1 1/2 tsp vanilla

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375. Grease 9 x 9 cake pan.

2. Mix brownie mix, eggs, vegetable oil and milk.

3. Loosely crush Oreos with your hands – you still want them in chunks, not a fine powder. Make sure your hands are clean! Then, add them into the brownie mix. Pour brownie mix into cake pan and set aside.

4. Mix cream cheese, powdered sugar and vanilla until creamy, yet still thick. Once finished, take a spoon and scoop out spoonfulls of cream cheese mixtures. Dollop onto brownie mix multiple times until cream cheese mixture is gone. Mix the cream cheese with the brownie mix, swirling into patterns with a spoon.

5. Place brownies in oven for 40 minutes. Check to see if they are done by placing a fork or toothpick into the center of the brownies. Fork should come away clean if baked through.

Recipe adapted from Sugar Plum.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 16, 2010 1:50 pm

    OMG! I love this! I am going to make this for a party tonight! I love that you are using a brownie mix because thats what I have but I wanted to make them extra good! Thanks for posting this!

Leave a Reply

