Skip to content

Pumpkin Butterscotch Chip Cupcakes with Rum Frosting

September 29, 2010

Did you know THAT IS IT FALL? I have already filled my recipe box with about a dozen pumpkin or fall-ish recipes, so be expected an enormous amount of pumpkin, cinnamon, apples and other awesomely delicious things.

Pumpkin butterscotch chip cupcakes with rum frosting. Photograph by Katie Currid.

I attempted to my a pumpkin cheesecake as my first fall recipe, but it was a huge fail. I’ll blog about it later, but mostly what happened is I moved the cheesecake too early onto a new plate (a.k.a. right out of the oven, before it set…duh) and it fell apart. Of course, it still tasted good after it was refridgerated, but I was too embarrassed to put the photographs up. I’m sure I’ll be making it again, so no worries if you were hoping for the recipe.

These cupcakes were incredibly easy and very delicious. They’re a little messy coming out of the wrapped — the chips stick to the liners — so I would recommend using liners instead of putting them straight in the muffin tin. They’re simple and really fantastic, though. Welcome fall with some yummy food!

Pumpkin butterscotch chip cupcakes with rum frosting

Recipe adapted from Love and Olive Oil. Makes 18 cupcakes.

You’ll need:

1 cup pumpkin puree or canned pumpkin (I used Libby’s)

1/3 cup vegetable oil

1 cup sugar

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup milk

1 tsp. vanilla

1 1/4 cup flour

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. pumpkin spice (or 3/4 tsp. cinnamon, 1/8 tsp. nutmeg, cloves, ginger)

1/4 tsp. salt

1/2 cup butterscotch chips, slightly chopped

Cupcake liners

Frosting:

1/2 cup softened butter

2 cup powdered sugar

2 T rum

1/2 tsp. pumpkin spice

Some milk, as needed

Perfect for a cool fall day!

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. In a medium-sized bowl, combine pumpkin, oil, sugars, milk and vanilla. Stir until combined. Add flour, baking powder, baking soda, spices and salt until just combined. I didn’t have any problem stirring by hands and if you don’t over mix, which is easy to do with an electric mixer, the cupcakes will be more moist. Fold in butterscotch chips.

3. Place cupcake liners in muffin tin (this is highly recommended due to the butterscotch chips, which will stick to the inside of the tin). Fill liners 2/3 fill with cupcake mixture. Bake 22-24 minutes until toothpick is removed cleanly.

4. For frosting, place softened butter in medium-size bowl. Add 1/2 cup powdered sugar, rum and spices. Mixed generously. Add 1/2 cups of powdered sugar until well mixed. I had to add about 1 T of milk to make my mixture the consistency desired for piping. Add into piping bag and frost cupcakes. Enjoy!

Recipe adapted from Love and Olive Oil.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Mina permalink
    September 30, 2010 10:29 am

    You have 1/4 c. brown sugar listed twice… was that a mistake? I’m excited to try these out! Thanks!

    • September 30, 2010 12:12 pm

      Yes, that was a mistake. I’m correcting it now. Thanks!

  2. October 4, 2010 6:20 am

    I’ve made many attempts at icing … usually they fail miserably, but this was a perfect success! Yummy!! Thanks!

    • October 4, 2010 9:02 am

      Thanks Jenna! I find cream cheese icing is a lot easier. If you’re having trouble with icing, it’s definitely a good one to start with! 🙂

  3. October 7, 2010 11:59 am

    I also have problem in the frosting method. I don’t know what will be the sign if it is finished already. So sometimes my kids just said that my icing is so easy to melt. I already tried many times but I really don’t get the perfect mixture of icing.

    • October 13, 2010 10:37 am

      Is your frosting too runny? Typically, the best way to get it to stiffen up is to add more powdered sugar. When I get messy frosting, sometimes it’s also because the consistency of the butter is off. It should be soft, but not melted. It should be easily mixed and creamy. Let me know if you still have issues! I either leave a stick out for awhile or put a stick in the microwave for 20ish seconds to soften it.

  4. October 7, 2010 12:23 pm

    These look so delicious! I love this kind of recipe and you frosted them so beautifully. I also like the “staging”. The little ribbon curls, one butterscotch chip and the nutmeg dusting really made for a nice shot. Thanks for the recipe!

  5. Mina permalink
    October 7, 2010 12:52 pm

    I just made these last night and they are FABULOUS (and so incredibly easy). I ended up with 12 cupcakes instead of 18 and had them in the oven for 20 minutes, so it’s a good idea to check them early. I had so many compliments! Thanks for the recipe!

  6. October 15, 2010 8:53 am

    Rum frosting sounds new too me. Thanks for this awesome recipe. I can’t wait to try this tomorrow. My hubby will be surprise with the new frosting.

  7. Kelly permalink
    November 21, 2010 7:42 pm

    I’m guessing you used light rum since your icing stayed white but just curious which kind you used? I was thinking Captain’s might add a nice spiced touch but wanted to know what you suggested 🙂

  8. October 16, 2011 6:32 am

    I use this recipe all the time in my shop with some minor changes. It is a huge hit. But even more so it is a hit with my family. Thank you!!!

  9. Samantha permalink
    November 16, 2011 7:50 pm

    Just baked these- fresh from the oven! I used pre-made frosting, easier for me. I also added 4 oz of applesauce, and baked mine for about 20 minutes… they really are delish! I love the staging you did-
    THANKS SO MUCH!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Pumpkin Butterscotch Chip Cupcakes with Rum Frosting | Love Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

