Skip to content

Easy Artisan Bread

November 7, 2010

Making bread from scratch can be intimidating, but this bread is amazingly easy.

Super simple artisan bread. Photograph by Katie Currid.

This artisan bread is just perfect and I can’t believe how simple it was to make. It is low maintenance and doesn’t take much more than a few steps. I think this recipe is perfect for anyone making their first loaf of bread.

The artisan bread just out of the oven on my countertop.

Artisan Bread

Prep time: 14 hours and 20 minutes | Bake time: 45 minutes

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 1/2 cups wheat flour

1 1/2 cups water

1/4 tsp. dry active yeast

3/4 tsp. salt

olive oil (for coating)

extra flour for dusting

 

Directions:

1. Mix flours, salt and yeast together in a medium bowl. Add water and incorporate by hand, kneading for 30 seconds. I recommend starting this recipe in the evening so the bread can rise overnight.

2. Coat the inside of a large bowl with olive oil. Place dough inside bowl and loosely cover top of the bowl with plastic wrap. Place it in a dry place (I put it in my oven, as it was turned off) and let rise for 12 hours.

3. In the morning, or after the rise, punch the dough down. Fold it a few times and shape into a ball. Generously coat a towel (do not use terry cloth) with flour and place the dough seam-side down on the towel. Dust with flour. Cover the top with another cotton towel and let rise 1-2 hours. The dough should double in size.

4. Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Place 6-8 quart pot with a lid (it can be made of glass, Pyrex or clay. I used a smaller container made of Pyrex) in the oven for 30 minutes while oven preheats. Once the dough is ready, place dough in the pot  seam side up. Cover with lid and bake for 30 minutes. After 30 minutes, take the lid off the pot and continue baking 15-20 minutes until loaf is browned.

Recipe adapted from Cooking with My Kid.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2010 10:56 pm

    I love to make bread. I’ve never made it with such a small amount of yeast, though. I love the overnight rise…I’m going to try this 🙂

  2. February 9, 2011 11:27 am

    I would love to bake bread and have been chicken. I’ll have to try this out. Thanks for having me on your Blog Roll. I will add you to mine! Cool photos.

  3. January 13, 2012 4:25 pm

    I just found your blog, and I love it! I started cooking and blogging when I started college too, but I have not tried bread yet. It is intimidating, but your post makes it look not too bad…

Leave a Reply

