Skip to content

Egg Nog Cookies

December 20, 2011

It’s Christmas time! Time to break out the holiday eating and drinking traditions and add alcohol to them.

Egg nog cookies with buttercream frosting. Recipe adapted from Tiny Mom.

I’m not the biggest egg nog fan, but my boyfriend bought a quart of it to drink and then left it in my fridge. I wasn’t about to let it go to waste, and since this recipe has pretty simple ingredients, I already had everything else around the house. So, it only made sense to make them!

I’m actually pretty happy with these cookies. I don’t often eat things right after I bake them — my cravings subside, I just want to sit down, etc — but I ate like 3 or 4 of these when I was done. And some batter. And then I had some more when I iced them. So I’d say they’re good.

The original recipe recommended baking these at 300 for 20 minutes, but I found myself baking them at 300 for like, 40 minutes. So, for my second batch, I baked them at 350 for 20 minutes and that seemed to help a lot. The first batch stuck to the pan pretty badly, causing breakages when I tried to remove them, and the second batch still a bit. For this, I placed the cookie sheet on my stove and turned the front and back burner to the lowest setting. The bit of heat made them come off easier. But hopefully you won’t have this problem, as my 350 batch turned out a lot more soft.

Happy holidays, all!

 

Egg Nog Cookies with Buttercream Frosting

Yields 3 dozen

2 1/4 cups flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp nutmeg

1 1/4 cup sugar

3/4 cup butter, softened

2 egg yolks

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 cup eggnog

2 tsp. rum (give or take — use more or less to loosen the batter)

1 1/2 cup powdered sugar

2 tsp butter, softened

1/3 cup eggnog
Directions:

1. Heat oven to 350. In a large bowl, combine flour, baking powder, nutmeg and cinnamon.

2. In separate bowl, mix sugar and butter. Once well-mixed, include vanilla and egg yolks. Beat until smooth. Finally, add egg nog and rum and stir until incorporated.

3. Pour egg nog mixture into the flour mixture slowly, mixing well but being careful not to overmix.

4. Drop cookies onto baking sheet (they don’t expand much so don’t worry about them being too close together). Bake for 20-22 minutes until the rim around the cookie is brown (they will not brown much). Remove and set to cool.

5. Mix softened butter, powdered sugar and egg nog together. Once the cookies have cooled, frost with a knife or icing tool.

Recipe adapted from Tidy Mom.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2013 1:49 pm

    “Egg Nog Cookies Baking With Ramen” was in fact a good posting.
    However, if it owned alot more photographs this would likely be quite possibly even
    better. All the best -Craig

  2. May 2, 2013 11:08 pm

    Awesome! Its in fact awesome paragraph, I have got much clear idea
    regarding from this article.

Leave a Reply

